http://www.vogue.com.au/fashion/news/seven+things+karl+lagerfeld+doesnt+like,36025

(Vogue AU interview with Karl Lagerfeld about his 7 dislikes)

 

Seven things Karl Lagerfeld doesn’t like & some of them I disagree. 

 

1 – Opinions, unless asked…         

Karl Lagerfeld – “There are not too many people with an opinion I care for.”

Cristine Rosa – “100% agree with Karl”

 

2- Karl Lagerfeld – Particularly, men’s opinions on fashion…  

Cristine Rosa – “Specially”
Karl Lagerfeld – “I’m not crazy to discuss fashion with men. I couldn’t care less about their opinion.”

Cristine Rosa – “There are many male designers who I value their opinions. Valentino, Cavalli, Gaultier, Lacroix, Zang Toi, Ralph Lauren, YSL & others .”

 

3- Stress…

Karl Lagerfeld – “I don’t believe in it. It’s a job, one should not become hysterical.”

Cristine Rosa – “Be strong & balanced, control yourself.” 

 

4- The past…

Karl Lagerfeld – “This is one of the sicknesses of our period, to look back. No, forget about it. Fashion is now and tomorrow. Who cares about the past?”

Cristine Rosa – I do care, based on the past we can learn, make better decisions & move forward to becoming better. 

 

5 – On that note, retrospectives and archives…

Karl Lagerfeld – “In Germany, they made a huge exhibition of everything I did, Fendi, Chanel, Lagerfeld, Chloé and all that. I’m not even going to the show. I don’t care… I don’t even have archives, myself. I keep nothing…Lots of my colleagues, they have archives, they look at their dresses like they were Rembrandts!”

Cristine Rosa – “I went to Jeanne Lanvin’s exposition at a Parisian museum this past July & the gorgeous outfits were true pieces of art. I would do anything to acquire one of Jeanne Lanvin 1930’s or 1940’s dresses. Design is a major part of our history. It’s just beautiful to see the fashion evolution. It is art. 

 

6- The word ‘artist’…
Karl Lagerfeld – “I’m a designer, I do photos, I do books, I’m a publisher, but I don’t have the self-proclaimed label “artist.” I hate that. Very pretentious. If other people say it, it’s very flattering, but if you start to say it yourself, you better forget about it.”

Cristine Rosa – “I always thrive to improve & do better. Stay humble, stay focused”. 

 

7- Selfies…

Karl Lagerfeld –  “I don’t do selfies. But other people do, and they all want to do selfies with me. No, no, no. Thank God, Sébastien, my assistant, he’s mean to the people in the street, mean and rude. I’m a nice person.”

Cristine Rosa – I love taking selfies, specially with those whom I appreciate from the bottom of my heart. I would love to take a picture with Karl Lagerfeld! That would make my year!

Leave a Reply

